BREAKING: Coronation of Oba Ghandi Olaoye is December, 36-member committee inaugurated

Image caption: Oba Ghandi Afolabi Olaoye, the SOun of Ogbomosoland

BREAKING: Oba Ghandi Olaoye’s coronation is December, 36-member committee inaugurated


A 36-member Central Coronation Planning Committee (CCPC) has been inaugurated for the coronation of His Imperial Majesty, Ọba Ghandi Afọlábí Ọláoyè, Òrumọgẹ̀gẹ̀ III – Sọ̀ún of Ògbómọ̀ṣọ́land.

In a statement issued by the chairman of the media and publicity sub-committee, Chief Sunday Dare, made available to, the Soun inaugurated the committee Friday via a zoom meeting.

Chief Dare said Ọba Ghandi Afọlábí Ọláoyè thanked and appreciated members for accepting to serve on the committee and taking the time to attend the inauguration.

The royal father charged the committee to organise and execute a programme that would leave an indelible mark in the history of Ògbómọ̀ṣọ́land.

The traditional ruler further charged the members to work harmoniously and foster mutual respect to ensure the day succeeds.


In his acceptance speech, the Central Coronation Planning Committee (CCPC) Chairman, Professor Adeshola Adepoju, welcomed all members, urging them to do their best to ensure the coronation succeeds.

He further enjoined sons and daughters of Ògbómọ̀ṣọ́land at home and abroad and friends to support the new traditional ruler in bringing more development to their homes.

He added, “We are assuring you, Kabiyesi, we are going to set standards that people in the South West region will emulate. The development of Ògbómọ̀ṣọ́land is our collective responsibility; hence, we must all cooperate with His Imperial Majesty.

“We are all part of this because we want to incorporate the installation of His Imperial Majesty as a standard to be emulated in Nigeria.

Prof Adepoju,. chairman.of the coronation planning committee (left) with Chief Sunday Dare, former minister of youth and sports development and Agbaakin Ogbomosoland

“I therefore urge all committee members to work together without infighting that could stand as a cog in the wheel of progress.”

AVM Adigun (rtd), planning committee co-chairman

The coronation is, however, scheduled for December while we await a date from the Oyo state government.

Some other leaders of the 36-member coronation committee are AVM (Rtd) Bolaji Adigun as co-chairman, while Rear Admiral (rtd) Jacob Ajani will serve as the secretary-general.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *