LAUTECH acquires surveillance drone, donated by Ogbomosoland Consultative Council

LAUTECH acquires surveillance drone, donated by Ogbomosoland Consultative Council

Inaolaji OLAYODE

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) Ogbomoso has received donation of a surveillance drone, five motorcycles and a laptop from Ogbomosoland Consultative Council (OCC) to enhance its security architecture.

From right: Dr Saka Balogun, Gen Oladayo Popoola and Prof Kalilu

Presenting the gadgets Wednesday Dr. Saka Balogun one of the coordinators of the socio-cultural organization recalled the organization received letter of request for the gadgets some months back following security concern in the university and its environs and “so we considered the request and after a lot of consultations between OCC and the management of LAUTECH represented by the Acting Vice Chancellor, we acquired the items and are making the presentation today.”


Responding, the Acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Razaq ROM Kalilu thanked the organization and assured the gadgets would be used for the purpose for which they are made available.

From right: Dr Balogun, Gen Popoola, Prof Kalilu, Engr Taofeeq Boladale (Director of Works LAUTEand Barristr Bayo Adeyi (represented the Registrar, Dr Kayode Ogunleye)

“We thank the OCC for the support towards enhancing security in the university community and environs and as we have received these motorcycles and particularly the very expensive surveillance drone we pledge to maximize the use of these items for the purpose for which they are given to us.

Speaking earlier, Gen. Oladayo Popoola (rtd), co-coordinator of OCC informed that after the request from the institution was received “We worked on it and these we have been able to obtain, with the fund sourced from our educational endowment fund. We are giving five motorcycles, a drone and a laptop.”

Some other leaders of OCC present at the presentation ceremony are Alhaji Monsur Lamidi Ejide, Professor Adesola Adepoju, Air Vice Marshall Bolaji Adigun (rtd), Chief Bayo Bankole, Alhaji Sheu Babalola and Professor Mrs. Alice Jekayinfa.

Hon Michael Abioye, Mr. Toyin Ajamu and Mr. Muyiwa Oke represented the secretariat of the organization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *