How Oyo lost second ministerial slot to Ogun -which now has 3 

How Oyo lost second ministerial slot to Ogun -which now has 3




Not a few Oyo indigenes are disturbed and wondering why Ogun state that shares borders with Oyo state is allocated three ministerial slots by President Bola Tinubu why Oyo has only one inspite of the huge votes garnered by Asiwaju Tinubu in the state during the February 25 2023 presidential election.


The three nominees from Ogun state are Ishak Salak, Bosun Tijjani, and Olawale Edun. The only one from Oyo state is Adebayo Adelabu, gubernatorial candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in 2019 and who contested but lost same bid again on the platform of Accord Party in 2023.


“Why will Ogun state have three ministerial nominees, Lagos two and Oyo state have just one? I don’t understand,” an indigene of Oyo state Michael Adelana wondered why speaking with


Investigations have however revealed that it was not intentional.


Sources said “Asiwaju actually allotted another nominee to the state but greediness or nepotism on the part of the governor caused the state to lose out.”


According to the source, a reliable one, President Tinubu asked Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo state being an ally to submit a name for another ministerial slot from the state however Makinde allegedly nominated Bimbo Adekanmbi, commissioner for finance and budget during the second tenure of late Governor Abiola Ajimobi.


This was unacceptable to Tinubu on the ground that Adekambi is also an Ibadan man.


“So, Asiwaju Tinubu reportedly rejected the nomination demanding a candidate from outside Ibadan.”


Asiwaju was said to have posited matter-of-fact, “Adelabu whom we had announced is an Ibadan indigene, the second person should come from outside Ibadan in the spirit of fairness and justice.”


But Maakinde allegedly spurned the request to nominate a non-Ibadan person. “In his characteristic manner he recoiled into his shells,” the source said.


“Asiwaju waited and waited till the last minute the list which was the second batch was sent to the Senate Thursday. Makinde and the powers that be in the state turned a deaf ear,” ogbomosoinsightonline was further informed.


“That was the reason Asiwaju Tinubu took the slot to Ogun state perhaps there is another person or interest to be given patronage in Ogun.”


That’s the story behind the nomination of three ministers from Ogun state against one from Oyo state as found out by


Meanwhile, it is recalled that an Ogbomoso person, Sunday Dare, served as minister representing Oyo state between 2019 and 2023; between 2015 and 2019, an Oke+Ogun man, Bayo Shittu; 2011-2015 an Ibadan person, Jumoke Akinjide; and between 2007 and 2011, also an Ibadan person represented Oyo state – Tahoeed Adedoja.


Oyo and Oke-Ogun persons, Haruna Elewi and Bamidele Dada respectively, were in the saddle between 1999 and 2007 during the tenures of President Olusegun Obasanjo.

One thought on “How Oyo lost second ministerial slot to Ogun -which now has 3 

  1. I don’t blame governor Seyi Makinde for being selfish and greedy rather I blamed President Tinubu who doesn’t precise his priority choice on whom he wanted as second nominee rather than allowing Seyi to select for him and he pick an Ibadan man again after Adelabu. What a nepotism and greediness leader GSM is!… Anyways thanks to Asiwaju for rejected his choice!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *