Ronaldo battles Messi, Lewandowski for The Best FIFA Football Award 2020, winner emerges Dec 17

Juventus superstar, Cristiano Ronaldo, Barcelona captain, Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski, have been named by FIFA as the three finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award 2020. Messi won the award last year. Lucas Modric and C.Ronaldo won the 2018 and 2017 editions respectively.
Fifa made the announcement along with finalists for other categories this afternoon with winners to be declared on December 17.
C. Ronaldo who recently bagged the Golden Foot award lifted the Scudetto last season and scored 37 goals in 46 appearances bagging six assists.
Messi last term found the back of the net 31 times in 44 appearances with an astonishing 27 assists but had no silverware.
Lewandowski on the other hand banged in 55 goals in 47 matches with 10 assists while he won the Bundesliga and UEFA Champions League making him the favorite to clinch the gong.
The shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award are Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City WFC), Pernille Harder (Denmark/VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC Women) and Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais).
For The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, the finalists are Sarah Bouhaddi (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Christiane Endler (Chile/Paris Saint-Germain) and Alyssa Naeher (USA/Chicago Red Stars).
Others are The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Brazil/Liverpool FC), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern München) and Jan Oblak (Slovenia/Atlético de Madrid); The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea FC Women), Jean-Luc Vasseur (France/Olympique Lyonnais) and Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team); The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina/Leeds United FC), Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany/FC Bayern München) and Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool FC). FIFA Puskás Award: Giorgian De Arrascaeta (URU) – Ceará SC v. CR Flamengo [Brasileirão – Brazil] (25 August 2019), Son Heung-min (KOR) – Tottenham Hotspur FC v. Burnley FC [Premier League – England] (7 December 2019) and Luis Suárez (URU) – FC Barcelona v. RCD Mallorca [LaLiga] – Spain] (7 December 2019).
All winners, including those of the FIFA Fan Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award, will be crowned on 17 December 2020 in a TV show broadcast live.

Lionel Messi
Robert Lewandowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *